Wooden Missionary Rosary Beads with Pope Francis picture card

Wooden Missionary Rosary Beads with Pope Francis picture card

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Possible delivery methods: UK Standard, Ireland, USA & Canada


Wooden Multicoloured Missionary Rosary Beads

(See explanation of "Missionary Rosary" below)






Yellow, Green, Natural (white), Red, Blue beads



Beads: 1/4" (5mm) approx

Cross:  1 1/2" (35mm) approx

Length of Rosary: 16" (40mm) approx circumference



Wooden coloured beads on twine



The rosary is packed in cellophane along with two Pope Francis picture cards



The World Mission Rosary (Missionary Rosary) was the inspiration of the Venerable Archbishop Fulton J Sheen (1895-1979), an American bishop (later archbishop) of the Catholic Church known for his preaching and especially his work on television and radio. Usually rosaries are of one colour but the Missionary Rosary is divided into sections of colour - one for each decade - white, red, green, blue and yellow, to encourage people to think of and pray for the whole world through colours.

Yellow is countries of the East - Asia and the Middle East. The bright color symbolizes the rising of the sun and the “beginning of civilization.”
Green is Africa, with its grasslands and green forests.
White is Europe, where the Holy Father (who wears white) lives.
Red is North and South America, where missionaries spread the faith from Europe, led by “the fire of their faith.”
Blue is the color of the world’s oceans and represents all the island nations, especially those in the Pacific and including the continent of Australia.



The Rosary is a Catholic form of devotional prayer dedicated to Mary, the mother of Jesus, and can be said in its fullness or in sections spread throughout the day and also in part, selecting one of its themed prayer sections as relevant to a particular occasion or need. The Rosary prayer can be said privately as a personal prayer or collectively with others and the rosary beads are intended as a guide through the various stages of the prayer.

The Rosary Prayer consists of four sections called “Mysteries” with each mystery having a theme, which is subdivided into five stages of Mary’s and Jesus’ life – The Joyful Mysteries, The Sorrowful Mysteries, The Glorious Mysteries and The Luminous Mysteries (this final mystery was added by St Pope John Paull II in October 2002 and known as “The Mysteries of Light”). The pattern of prayer for each stage of these mysteries is to say 10 ‘Hail Mary’ prayers preceded by the ‘Our Father’ prayer and concluding with the ‘Glory Be’ prayer. The full rosary prayer begins by saying the ‘Apostle’s Creed’, an ‘Our Father’, three ‘Hail Marys’ and the ‘Glory Be’ prayer. The ‘Salve Regina’ (“Hail, Holy Queen”) prayer is said after the final mystery.

The various groupings in a set of rosary beads is distinctive to these sections of the prayer and a traditional set of rosary beads are in the form a circlet, with the beads grouped into five sections of ten beads (the ‘Hail Mary’ beads) and each group separated by a lone bead or symbolic medal (used jointly to count the ‘Our Father’ and ‘Glory Be’ prayers). This circlet of beads is finished by a tail pendant of five beads grouped as two single beads (for the ‘Our Father’ and ‘Glory Be’ prayers) surrounding an inner group of three beads (the ‘Hail Marys’). A crucifix or cross (for the ‘Apostles’ Creed’) is usually fastened to the end of the pendant.

For more on the prayer of the Rosary see our “More Information” Tab.

We also recommend

Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: Rosaries, The Rosary